Thursday, April 24, 2014

New MFP Board Members

Karen Hanscom
Karen Hansom, PhD.

Karen Hanscom, PhD. and William Schaffner, M.D. were recently appointed to Medicine For Peace’s Advisory Board, and Executive Board, respectively.

Dr. Karen Hanscom is one of the founders and is the current Executive Director of Advocates for Survivors of Torture and Trauma (ASTT), a human services organization in Baltimore and Washington, DC. The mission of ASTT is to relieve the suffering of individuals who have experienced torture in other countries, and to educate the local, national and world community about the needs of torture survivors. She is a leader in the world-wide campaign to abolish State-sponsored torture. After receiving a Doctorate in Psychology, Dr. Hanscom worked with the Guatemala Human Rights Commission training elders to recognize and treat post-traumatic stress syndrome, for which she received the International Humanitarian Award of the American Psychology Association. In 2005, she was the recipient of the Maryland Psychology Association’s Outstanding Service to the Public Award. Dr. Hanscom is also an Adjunct Professor at the Georgetown Law School
William Schaffner
William Schaffner, M.D.

Dr. William Schaffner is Professor of Medicine and Health Policy, and past- Chairman of the Department of Preventative Medicine at Vanderbilt School of Medicine. He is an international expert on many aspects of infectious diseases, including epidemiology, infection control and immunization. Dr. Schaffner has worked extensively on the effective use of vaccines in both pediatric and adult populations.

Dr. Schaffner has authored or co-authored more than 400 published studies, reviews and book chapters on infectious diseases. He is the immediate past-president of the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases, and he serves on the editorial board of a number of scientific journals, including Journal of Infectious Diseases, Vaccine and the CDC’s Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report. Dr. Schaffner is the recipient of numerous awards, including the James D. Bruce Award from the American College of Physicians for “distinguished contributions to preventive medicine”.